• This community needs YOUR help today. With the ever increasing fees of everything (server, software, domain, e-mail) , we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community to help spread our love and knowledge of IH Cub Cadets. You get a lot of great new account perks including access to private forums. If you sign up for annual, I will ship a few IH Cub Cadet Forum decals too in addition to all the account perks you get. You can see what it looks like below.

Archive through April 24, 2013

IH Cub Cadet Tractor Forum

Help Support IH Cub Cadet Tractor Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kostendorf

displayname
Keith Ostendorf
Doug, I'm kinda new to working on cubs and learning real fast on this forum with all the knowledge you guys are putting out there. That said it sounds like you checked all the technical stuff. It might have been a hair line crack in the oil dipper that made it break off and not sling oil on the crank.

Gary I. fortunately the only thing broken was the dipper. when it seized the rpm was low so no grenade effect.

Keith O seems like if the dipper broke first there would be other oil starved components in the engine as the engine relies on splash for lubrication. I inspected the pan for signs off interference with the dipper but found none. I suppose that the rod my seize before anything else as it is under the most load.

When the dipper fails on a rod, 99% of the time it is due to a ding, a scratch etc. in the aluminum, which creates a stress riser. Found this out when I was in warranty dept.