• This community needs YOUR help today. With the ever increasing fees of everything (server, software, domain, e-mail) , we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community to help spread our love and knowledge of IH Cub Cadets. You get a lot of great new account perks including access to private forums. If you sign up for annual, I will ship a few IH Cub Cadet Forum decals too in addition to all the account perks you get. You can see what it looks like below.

Paint help!!!!

IH Cub Cadet Tractor Forum

Help Support IH Cub Cadet Tractor Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

acasteel

displayname
Anthony Casteel
This is my first time painting with a gun so i need some help. I am painting my tractor just so i can get proficiency awards for scholarship money through the F.F.A.

I bought 3 cans of rust-oleum and i was told to use reducer and hardener. So i went to the auto body paint store and told the man what i was doing....Which is painting my cub cadet and asked about the hardener and reducer and he told me he would not sell me any of it because he did not know how it would react with the paint and did not want to be held responsible for destroying my gun.

After i left i called another auto body paint store and told them i have synthetic enamel and they said that is is universal and can use it on any paint and it will act the same.

So i cant go back to the paint store because they are closed and i would like to get up at the crack of dawn to start primering but my big qustion is the can suggest to thin the primer and paint out with mineral spirits or acetone but does not say anything about useing a hardener at all.

So should i just thin the paint with what it recomends or go and buy the reducer and hardener.