IH tiller tines

IH Cub Cadet Tractor Forum

Help Support IH Cub Cadet Tractor Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Allen - The subject is still relevant (it is tiller season) and I was responding to Nick's yesterday post.

and who you callin "genlemen" ?

Hey Allen, someone had to respond, right? Anyway...Ken, I've been welding for about fifteen years or so, certified and all. I did exactly as Terry B.'s post said to do but I still think the way they were heat treated caused the problem. When I was doing it, I told my son who was helping that I thought we were going to break some tines. We were only heating up from the weld area to the end and then treating them. Went to work on a Sunday when nobody was around and used their oxy acetylene for the hour or so. Like I said, it was probably the way I heat treated them. And my garden soil is nice. The neighbors has all the rocks. Not that I like beating the crap out of my tiller but they don't have much and they ask every year. Kind of feel bad now, the neighbor put alot of work into his crappy soil and had a nice garden going until the dang deer destroyed it last week. And I have a chain for the top link. I wasn't counting them as I broke them, lol, I didn't know till I was done. I only tilled over there for half an hour.