Archive through August 26, 2009

IH Cub Cadet Tractor Forum

Help Support IH Cub Cadet Tractor Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Tristan, on your 129 "smoking /loss of power, I suggest you look for a sticking valve, Carbon,bent, burnt etc. I'm no "great mechanic , but ,,,, Rich
old.gif

Charlie, I can relate to that, when I was a kid on the farm, Grandpa used to call me Anvil. One day I asked him why he called me that. His reply: "cause you could bust an anvil with a rubber mallet boy!" But, he did always show me how to fix it after I broke it.

Tristan, don’t have a good answer as to what is going on, but I had the same thing happened on a 149. Final result is I lost a rod and crank. If it were mine I would pull the engine and check it out before you have some serious internal damage. What I should have done before I lost an engine.

John, Rich, thanks for the suggestions. I am no expert mechanic but sitting here trying to think how I can get smoke out of the oil fill but no smoke out the exhaust... is it possible something is getting so hot to burn the oil in the crankcase like a rod/crank bearing? Weird thing is the motor seems to run smooth, no noise or vibration (at least no more then before).

Other problem, is my clutch went out on my 1000. I hope this will be an easier fix since the grass really needs mowed! I dont know much about the internals of clutches, and I did looks at the parts diagram in my manual, but not sure what part would most likely be at fault. The clutch does not slip, meaning its always on. I press the pedal all the way down and if I hit the key the starter will start driving the mower ahead.

Let me see if this works (pic):

168718.png