• This community needs YOUR help today. With the ever increasing fees of everything (server, software, domain, e-mail) , we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community to help spread our love and knowledge of IH Cub Cadets. You get a lot of great new account perks including access to private forums. If you sign up for annual, I will ship a few IH Cub Cadet Forum decals too in addition to all the account perks you get. You can see what it looks like below.

1200 restoration

IH Cub Cadet Tractor Forum

Help Support IH Cub Cadet Tractor Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bkiper

displayname
bryan kiper
I am starting my first restoration project and its a 1200 cub with a 38 in deck. I have been using the tractor for 2 years now and seems to be sound. I purchased the tractor from Craigslist and the guy supposedly just overhauled the eng. Got it home and mowed with it for 10 min and the eng started knocking. I tore it down and found the rod bolts had backed off and ruined the rod. Cleaned the crank up and put a new rod in. I thought i had got burnt on the purchase but its still running and it still has a stil has a slight rattle but has not goten worse in the 2 years ive owned it. Today i installed a creeper drive. Surprisingly that was easy to install. Any pointers ot tips on restoring would be appreciated. I will try to post pics as soon as possible.

Bryan, hang in there. Its a beautiful Sunday in many places and people are out and about. Others will get back to you soon.
wave.gif

Bryan: The best advice I can give you is keep coming back and informing us on your progress. Pics are good and many of us will post them for you if you have a problem resizing.
1AA_dance2.gif

Bryan, Can you post a nice picture of that dealer sticker in the base of ops thread in the sand box...

that looks cool

And a nice unit for resto with the creeper drive