• This community needs YOUR help today. With the ever increasing fees of everything (server, software, domain, e-mail) , we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community to help spread our love and knowledge of IH Cub Cadets. You get a lot of great new account perks including access to private forums. If you sign up for annual, I will ship a few IH Cub Cadet Forum decals too in addition to all the account perks you get. You can see what it looks like below.

2206 engine/mower problem

IH Cub Cadet Tractor Forum

Help Support IH Cub Cadet Tractor Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jniolon

displayname
john niolon
hi guys... newbie here - first post, hoping you can help.

I've got a 2206 tractor with a 48" mower. recently I noticed that the engine (20hp Kohler) seemed to be running harder than it should when mowing.

One of the blades was extremely hard to turn without the belt on it so I figured spindle bearings were seizing up. Yesterday I replaced all three sets of spindle bearings... regreased, reinstalled mower and it seemed to help a little but when you engage the mower it still nearly stalls the engine and is slow to come up to speed.. frustrated I parked it in shed and called it an evening

laying in bed I'm studying on the problem... if it's not the mower spindles the only other moving part is the clutch.. I didn't try engaging with no load/belt on the clutch but could a clutch start to seize up and load down the engine ??? by itself with no mower attached ???

I'm at a dead end and hope you guys can help...

tia
John

John, welcome
groupwave.gif

You have idler pulleys? when you had the belt off did you spin them to make sure they were okay? That deck belt have a tightener? is it free? I'm not real familiar with this model, it's just a thought.

Per the parts lookup, it uses two idlers, (tut tut, Dave..
bottom.gif