• This community needs YOUR help today. With the ever increasing fees of everything (server, software, domain, e-mail) , we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community to help spread our love and knowledge of IH Cub Cadets. You get a lot of great new account perks including access to private forums. If you sign up for annual, I will ship a few IH Cub Cadet Forum decals too in addition to all the account perks you get. You can see what it looks like below.

Won't Start Anymore (Model 102)

IH Cub Cadet Tractor Forum

Help Support IH Cub Cadet Tractor Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tthomas

displayname
Troy Thomas
Hey Folks,

I'm new to your beloved Cub Cadet community, but have been a Cub Cadet owner for a few years and I have loved Cub Cadets since I was a kid. My grandparents owned a farm and we had about 5 or 6 Cub Cadets. When my grandparents passed away I inherited one of their Cub Cadets, Model 102.

As far as I know when I first got it wasn't running cause it had sat for a few months. But once I had it, it sat for about another year. My father and I got it running and I used it for a few months to mow grass, the idle was messy but it ran great. After that it sat for about three years and would not run.

About a year ago my buddy and I started to work on it. We spent a whole day on it and could not get it to start. The next day we tried again. After a few hours it ran like a champ, we have no clue what we did to get it running. It worked good for a week, I wasn't using it but I'd occasionally start it up. I let it go for a few days and then nothing.

Since then we can't get it to work. We thought maybe the ignition coil was bad, but seems to work fine (although I will need to replace it as we stripped and broke a screw on top). We replaced the breaker points and condenser but that didn't help it to start.