• This community needs YOUR help today. With the ever increasing fees of everything (server, software, domain, e-mail) , we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community to help spread our love and knowledge of IH Cub Cadets. You get a lot of great new account perks including access to private forums. If you sign up for annual, I will ship a few IH Cub Cadet Forum decals too in addition to all the account perks you get. You can see what it looks like below.

Iron Gard Questions

IH Cub Cadet Tractor Forum

Help Support IH Cub Cadet Tractor Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mmiller

displayname
Michael A. Miller
I've never used Iron Gard before and I plan to get some to use on my 125. Do you need to reduce it first or shoot it as it comes right out of the can? If it needs reducing,what do you use? Thanks!

I add 1 oz. of hardener and 2 oz. of thinner to 16 oz. of paint. Works great for me.

DSCF0442.JPG

Last edited:
Your best bet is to go to an auto paint supply store and ask the man for enamel reducer and see what he recomends for the paint and temperature you plan on using it .. You reduce enamel and you thin lacquer.. But you do not use thinner in enamel as it will work, but after about a year it go flat looking .. Long story short they are not chemically compatible..Also if you use hardener remember it is an isocyanate and must be used in a very well ventilated area...Also you normally reduce enamel with one part reducer to three parts paint..