• This community needs YOUR help today. With the ever increasing fees of everything (server, software, domain, e-mail) , we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community to help spread our love and knowledge of IH Cub Cadets. You get a lot of great new account perks including access to private forums. If you sign up for annual, I will ship a few IH Cub Cadet Forum decals too in addition to all the account perks you get. You can see what it looks like below.

Archive through December 12, 2003

IH Cub Cadet Tractor Forum

Help Support IH Cub Cadet Tractor Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Keith E.: Just out of curiousity, what is the purpose of the strap for the QL engine cradle? Is it just to make it more rigid? I'm pretty new to this since I just got my first cub (1450) this spring. I have already replaced the Iso mounts on it. Thanks, Shawn

Shawn H. -

Exactly right. Below is an example of the "cradle" that the engine sits in on later Cub Cadets, note that they used two angle irons.

14469.jpg

This is what I used in my 1450, althought the rear brace had to be removed (to clear the blower housing) and some of the lower edge of the front brace had to be remove to clear the mower mule bracket.

14470.jpg

Of course, I didn't realize the mule drive wouldn't work until the following spring. Oh well...

14471.jpg

Had 2 to 3 inches of snow here today. Just enough to get some of my Cub Cadets out and try to shine up their tires in the snow. Here are two pictures.

14473.jpg

L-R. Original, 73, 124, 128, 105, 100, and 104.

14474.jpg

Shawn: