Archive through August 03, 2012

Help Support IH Cub Cadet Forum:

wsdrake

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 23, 2012
Messages
139
Location
Newton, WV
displayname
Billy Drake
Hello Joe G., welcome!
bannana_guitar.gif
Hope you enjoy it here, i do.
Qucik question: i'm wondering how to adjust the float on my carburetor. I think it's letting in too much gas, causing my stalling and stumbling plus fowling out my spark plug. Thanks for your help!
 

drglinski

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 16, 2012
Messages
304
displayname
Daniel Glinski
After some decent rain, my grass is actually growing again, warranting a cut (finally.) I got my mower deck back yesterday from my mechanic welder as it needed stiffening around the guide wheel bracket.

I got to some thicker higher grass and the mower started struggling. It slowed significantly. The engine did not skip a beat. I know that the clutch was not slipping because it was rebuilt in April by the same mechanic that welded up the mower deck.

I suspect the drive belt to the deck. I have ensured it was tight-- the belt that the PO gave me when I bought it back in April is a green sunlite and I'm thinking that's the culprit. I'm betting I need a CNH belt for it to work correctly.

Is a "Cub Cadet" belt as good as a CNH? I've used CNH before so I'm familiar with those, but unsure of the quality between the two. I think I need part # PN/ IH-473462-R4. Correct?

Apart from that, it mowed great!
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Messages
2,917
displayname
Allen Schumacher
Billy D. Welcome. Look here at Matt Gs' special web site. He is a great help to everyone here and shares his info with a great 'how to' collection.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
816
displayname
Binder 1650
Harry B - I think you can buy solid spacers for the AQS engines in place of the rubber mounts to keep the spacing the same and the drive shaft properly in line.

Right now my 1650 has no mounts as the engine is still on the bench...
bash.gif


So many tractors - so little time ...
a_blink2.gif
 

digger

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
IHCC Sponsor
Joined
Jun 22, 2002
Messages
15,719
Location
Park Rapids Mn.
displayname
Digger
Bill J.
Go buy some solid mounts and use them in your everyday tractor and come back and tell us how long it took for you to break out your oil pan!
biggrin.gif


If your going to use it as a pulling tractor, go for it!
30 to 45 minutes tops in a season of pulling they will do fine for ya.
 

dfrisk

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 12, 2001
Messages
6,309
displayname
Dennis Frisk
DAN G. A CC belt "Should" Be as good as a CNH belt. But I know that CC/MTD is always looking to save money on parts. The pt # you posted is different than what my #72 & 38" deck uses, and late last summer when I bought a new mule drive belt my local CC dealer said MTD had started supplying a new cheaper belt that was not as wide as the older belts. I haven't used it yet but was assured it would maybe last half as long as the old wider belts. Turns out I had 2-3 old style belts on hand. Seems that my 72 goes thru a mule drive belt about once a year now with the K321 installed. With the old K241 the mule drive would last 4-5 yrs. Anyhow, just what I want... a $30 belt that lasts half as long! ;-(

Your 147 & mower may use a different belt that hasn't changed yet. I tried a Dayco belt years ago on my 129 & 44A deck and it didn't work. The belt wouldn't make the twists between the engine & idler pulleys and would jump off the idlers before the mower got up to speed. I've heard people here say that the Gates Green Belts work, but I always keep going back with IH/MTD belts now.

Most CNH dealers were IH dealers that handled CC's when they were made by IH, so you'd be getting OEM belts either way.
 

dcmay

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 10, 2007
Messages
120
displayname
Dan May
Thanks Digger.You mentioned somthing I had'nt thought of and that is the aluminum oil pan on my Quiet Line. It may not like a solid mount.I think I may forget about solid mtg.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
816
displayname
Binder 1650
Charlie - I got lucky on my 1650. The tractor came with a box of miscelanous parts, among them was another set of used ISO mounts. So I had 4 good ones from the top of the cradle when I took the engine out and 4 good ones (out of 8) from the box of parts. I've done the cradle mod - I just need to find the time to put everything together... someday.

Question is - if you destroy the oil pan using the solid mounts, how is that different than a solid mounted 149 or 169 - just asking.
 

digger

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
IHCC Sponsor
Joined
Jun 22, 2002
Messages
15,719
Location
Park Rapids Mn.
displayname
Digger
Bill J.
I'm thinking that it's a combination of the rail mounting system QL's have and the flexing in the same.
I'm still of the opinion that the old IH designers kinda knew what they were doing when it came to QL's, so who am I to try and fix something that ain't broke.
biggrin.gif
 

bwittman

Banned
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
313
displayname
Brian Wittman
New ISO mounts and flex joints didn't work for me. Now, I have no idea how to get the vibration dampened down enough to sit on the thing.
 

nbextermueller

Well-known member
Joined
May 18, 2007
Messages
909
displayname
Nic Bextermueller
I'm on board with Bill J. All this talk about iso-mounts, but every cub I've owned has been solid mounted right to the frame.

I can see the mounts reducing vibration, but not using them doesn't suddenly make the engine vibrate more than it's solid cousins. Unless breaking the oil pan has something to do with solid mounting the rails.... I just don't get it.

More reasons I never want to own a QL.

Brian W.
So much you can't sit on it? Either your really spoiled or your cub has bigger issues...
 

jharvey

***
Joined
May 1, 2003
Messages
361
displayname
Jerry Harvey "Nines are wild"
Nic
I thought it has been discussed here that one of the changes at the QL series was the elimination of balance gears, hence all the more need for the iso-mounts, centering balls on the driveshaft, and double flex disks.

Brian
Look at your driveshaft and see if it's spinning true or has a wobble causing the vibration. Have you replaced the centering ball assys on each end of the driveshaft?
 

drglinski

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 16, 2012
Messages
304
displayname
Daniel Glinski
This post is in regards to the one I put up about belts---

AND I'm sure it's been beat to death--

but I'm not sure if my PTO is slipping (at least it SHOULDN'T be).

While mowing in heavy grass the engine did not bog but the deck slowed. I suspected the belt because it's a sunbelt and I've never heard of them. I did some playing today and with the PTO engaged, I manually turn the blades (spark plug wire disconnected!) by hand, hold the generator, and I can see the PTO slipping some.

I'm confused, because a 30+ YR IH mechanic rebuilt the PTO at the beginning of the season because a PO had gernaded it, and used new parts.

I hope I don't have to take the PTO off again.

What might be going on here?
 

dtanner

***
Joined
Dec 8, 2005
Messages
6,544
displayname
Donald Tanner
Daniel Glinski
If you have the proper adjustment between the PTO button and the pto and the PTO slips . I would say it is not adjusted properly and will need to be removed and adjusted per the adjusting instructions on a PTO.
old.gif
 

scorder

Active member
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
30
displayname
Sean Corder
Finally got a decent amount of rain here in central Indiana overnight. May get to do a little mowing with the old 72 this week. Grass already looks a little greener!
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
221
Location
Western Maine
displayname
James MacDonald
After soaking the shifter overnight I was able to use the C clamp method to remove the pressed in bottom. The cup is broken away all the way around from the shift lever, but otherwise looks repairable with welding.
I am at another scratch my head point.
How to I get the pin out in the photo 1. It must have been pressed in from the outside photo 2. Any hints how to get at the pin holding the spring etc. in photo 3. The spring is already compressed and underneath. I can just barley see any of the pin.
I sure looks assembled differently than the way it's pictured in the TC-133

242673.gif

242674.gif

242675.gif


I certainly am slow, but making progress.
 

thoffman

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 10, 2006
Messages
3,611
displayname
Tom Hoffman
Jimmy Mac,
Get all of that picture out of you head. DO NOT remove that lil' roll pin thing on #8!! Take out the <font size="-2">small</font> roll pin holding the spring and keverything else and remove it. Slide #3 out the bottom. The cup under #8 will come out the bottom with the pin in place.
 

wshytle

Well-known member
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
2,815
displayname
Wayne Shytle
Brian-

You apparently have something else that needs attention like the driveshaft. I have a few QLs and sure, they shake a bit on start up and shut down but don't shake while in use any more than any other Kohler. These are shaking machines and I'm sure the engineers at IH weren't trying to get the shake out with the iso mounts, they were simply trying to dampen things a bit. I would not install solid mounts on any QL for any reason. If the engine isn't leaking oil (which will speed up the iso rubber failures) and the engine and rails are installed correctly things will last a good long while. Once you're use to the QL and the way it runs/operates I'm sure you'll like it.

And they are a lot quieter than the others.
 

drglinski

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 16, 2012
Messages
304
displayname
Daniel Glinski
I think I may have discovered why the PTO was loose, while in the engaged position. One of the throw out levers was loose while the other two were not. I took the PTO off, snugged up the nuts on the back of the bolts (of equal length, per the service manual) and put it back on. Doing a manual test-not running the engine or deck- seems to prove successful- I hope.
 

Latest posts

Top